chamber music

die Bäume wachsen in den Himmel nicht…

    • chamber music

Old and New Music for accordion and organ
A & O: Eva Zöllner, accordion & Kerstin Petersen, organ

Inspired by the expressive and multicolored sound possibilities of their two “wind instruments” Kerstin Petersen and Eva Zöllner open the space between old and new music. Especially for this project they have commissioned contemporary composers to write new pieces that draw a connection to older music: the Belarusian composer Oxana Omelchuk plays with Mendelssohn’s harmony and lets it merge with jazz-sounds. Knut Müller deals with the coexistence of the two keyboard instruments in Giovanni Gabrieli’s Canzona and transmits it to his musical language. And Thomas Beimel composed his Sonata with archaic sounds of a distant time.
The integration of contemporary works into this classic context draws new connections and offers the audience an exceptionalconcert experience.

William Albright (1944-1998) Fanfare / Echo, arr. A & O
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (1809-1847) from: Lieder ohne Worte, arr. A & O
Oxana Omelchuk (*1975) …die Bäume wachsen in den Himmel nicht… (2009)
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (1809-1947) Sonate c-moll op. 65, arr. A & O
Thomas Beimel (*1967) Sonata (communio) (2007)
Giovanni Gabrieli (ca. 1555-1612) Canzon Sol Sol La Sol Fa Mi a 8 Knut Müller (1963)
NiN-LiL (2011) für Akkordeon & Orgel
Aurelio Bonelli (ca. 1569 – 1620) Toccata Cleopatra
Guy Bovet (*1942) ”Hamburger Totentanz”, arr. A & O